Digital Preservation Awards 2018

Posted by s.aragon on 25 July 2018 - 9:58am

5896482411_7ddb63ba57_z.jpgThe Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) is delighted to announce the leading organisations in digital content creation, preservation and access that have committed to supporting the Digital Preservation Awards 2018.

Enter before the deadline of 09:00 (BST) on 31st July 2018.

The awards are organized every two years by the DPC on behalf of the world-wide digital preservation community: and on behalf of that global community the DPC is delighted to acknowledge and thank those agencies who have generously contributed to the Digital Preservation Awards, enabling this exciting process to take place:

  • Headline Sponsor - Google
  • Gold Sponsor – The National Archives
  • Silver Sponsor – MirrorWeb
  • Bronze Sponsors – Arkivum, ExLibris, FormPipe, International Institute for Social History (IISH), LIBNOVA, Preservica, TownsWeb Archiving, 
  • Venue Sponsor – Dutch Digital Heritage Network
  • Category Sponsors – Open Data Institute (ODI), National Records of Scotland, Software Sustainability Institute (SSI)

John Sheridan, Digital Director at The National Archives, said:

“I am delighted that The National Archives is able to be a Gold Sponsor and to support the digital preservation community in this practical way. These awards are a really important opportunity, not just to recognise and celebrate the contributions being made in digital preservation, but to show just what can be done to safeguard our digital legacy.

Five awards categories are offered as follows:

  • The Software Sustainability Institute Award for Research and Innovation which recognises excellence in practical research and innovation activities.
  • The Digital Preservation Coalition Award for Teaching and Communications, recognising excellence in outreach, training and advocacy.
  • The National Records of Scotland Award for the Most Distinguished Student Work in Digital Preservation, encouraging and recognising student work in digital preservation.
  • The National Archives Award for Safeguarding the Digital Legacy, which celebrates the practical application of preservation tools to protect at-risk digital objects.
  • The ODI Award for the Most Outstanding Digital Preservation Initiative in Commerce, Industry and the Third sector, encouraging and recognizing the adoption of digital preservation tools and approaches in institutions which are not explicitly memory institutions.
  • In addition, the DPC Fellowship will be presented to an individual in recognition of a substantial, generous and distinguished contribution to securing our digital legacy.

The Digital Preservation Awards remains open for nominations, with just over a month left to submit entries. This year the exciting process will culminate in a spectacular awards ceremony in Amsterdam, as part of an International Conference hosted by the Dutch Digital Heritage Network and the Amsterdam Museum on World Digital Preservation Day (previously International Digital Preservation Day) on Thursday 29th November 2018.

Find out more about the Digital Preservation Awards.